The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Hi everyone! I’m about to go off the internet grid again, so I really wanted to throw in another little book tag for you to tie everyone over (it’s a long story, but it’s the reason behind my sporadic posting these days – I no longer have a working internet connection at home). I found this tag at YA Book Blog by E.C. Orr, unfortunately I don’t know who created the tag so I can’t give proper credit. Ready? Let’s go!

.

totally should’ve… NOT gotten a sequel

I prefer to only read Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder and consider it a finished story, but that’s just because I like the first book very much and didn’t like the progression of the rest. I could not get into the second book, so I DNF’d it and reading the back covers of the subsequent books also didn’t feel like my kind of thing. So I prefer to think of Poison Study as a standalone, but I that’s not because the sequels are bad – they just weren’t for me. So I’m torn on if I should even mention it here.

.

totally should’ve… had a spin-off series

I can think of a few! Alec & Magnus from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Maggie Stiefvater too really should make a spin-off series – for any of the characters in The Raven Cycle, honestly. Arobynn Hamel from Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series. There are just some characters you really want to see more of!

.

Totally should’ve… ended differently

This is difficult, I can’t actually think of one. But I really dislike open endings in the sense that two or more possibilities are equally possible. It feels as if a book is unfinished. I posted recently on Instagram that the ending of the final book in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle had me torn. On one hand, I did not like the group splitting up so obviously at the end, breaking apart because they all started to tend to their own goals instead of the common one that was now solved. On the other hand, I really liked it – deep down – because it felt so true to life. These were all teens about to embark on new journeys into becoming adults. So I’m sticking with it and saying it should have ended exactly how it did.

Oh, I thought of one! I absolutely hate the third book in the Shatter Me series. Juliette completely broke character in that one, destroying everything that was so slowly and carefully built over the previous two books and that ended with complete disbelief on my part. Because a girl afraid of her own shadow, always so extremely deferential to authority, would decide that she was going to be the world’s next dictator because she would actually believe to be the best person for that job. I mean… That’s a book that really should just have been rewritten entirely, but especially the ending.

.

totally should’ve… had a tv show / film franchise

Originally, tv show and film franchise were two different questions, but that just didn’t make sense to me. I would really like to see the Silber series by Kerstin Gier come to life on screen. I would love for Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds to get a series, and if they would do Passenger/Wayfarer, I think I would enjoy it even more than I did Passenger (which I DNF’d). Also, anything by Brandon Sanderson. Seriously. Why is Mistborn not a film franchise yet? And the Reckoners series would be perfect for it too!

And OMG, The Night CircusCaraval. The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. The Earth Girl series. Any book by Sarah J. Maas. The Bone Season. But please. Please make the movies like I have them in my head. Otherwise, don’t bother.

.

Totally should’ve… had one point of view

I find it hard to come up with a book in which I was put off by the POV changes. Usually the shift in POV propels the plot forward or gives greater insight and depth to the characters, and even though a POV shift can be annoying in such cases, they do offer the story something it otherwise would have lacked. But I guess I could have done without the POV shifts in the first book of Mary E. Pearson’s The Remnant Chronicles, which is Kiss of Deception. I thought the mystery of who was who becomes a crutch about halfway through the book. It goes from being a really interesting way to tell a story to stalling the story in order to draw out the mystery.

Lia is stuck mid-development in a bland state that fits neither her country girl persona, nor her actual status as runaway princess. She only becomes interesting again when the mystery is solved and Mary E. Pearson finds the time to actually start building a plot. The second book is MUCH better on that score. If the writer hadn’t been so caught up in writing from an interesting perspective (interchanging the main POV with POV from both boys to up the ambiguity and keep us guessing), the story would not have suffered the way it does. Don’t get me wrong though, I love The Remnant Chronicles as a series, it’s just the first book that has this kinda major flaw, and it’s due to what Mary E. Pearson does with the POV.

.

totally should’ve… had a cover change

This is oooone tricky subject for me, because I have publicly berated Dutch publishers for changing covers to something I thought far less preferable (or sellable). I won’t go into that again, so now I’m thinking of books of which I just didn’t like the covers. I think that I’m putting The Mortal Instruments high on my list, I don’t find them appealing. I like the unicolour design much better.

I would also have liked Harry Potter and the Cursed Child to have come in an edition that would have fitted the rest of the series. I know it wants to stand out as not actually being a Harry Potter book, but people are just plain annoyed it doesn’t fit nicely on their shelves. Especially because the series has had such a wonderful variety of beautiful collector’s editions. It just doesn’t go with anything.

.

totally should’ve… stopped reading

The Ruby Red trilogy by Kerstin Gier, I suppose. It doesn’t get better, it just got worse. The premise is so wonderful, and there are actually very interesting elements in the story. But the main protagonist was the worst kind of spineless dunce that could have gone to either side depending on whose messenger was more hot or reliable-looking. I have such anger simmering inside of me still over that series and how it was just done badly. Especially because I think Kerstin Gier can do much better, seeing as how she did the Silber books. Although Liv also should never have chosen Henry, by the way.

But I am happy to say that I usually do stop reading when I don’t like a book. The Selection series wasn’t for me. Passenger either. Seeker. Although I have to say that whatever I did read of Seeker was bad enough that it still has me fuming about authors thinking their audiences dumb. I don’t like to waste time on finishing something that’s not for me, while there are so many other books out there that are waiting to be read.

.

Totally should’ve… kept the cover

Well. Yes. I guess I do have to talk about the books I mentioned above. I hate what the Dutch publishers did to the Caraval cover. I hate what they did to the Fire Colour One cover. They should have kept the originals, they were far better in both design and appeal. Well, to me, I do realise that tastes differ. I also think the Earth Girl series looks far better in the tri-colour design than in the more realistic cover they did later.

.

totally should’ve… NOT prejudged

I prejudged The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Or rather, I thought it was not for me without even trying it, because I’m not really into urban YA fantasy. I absolutely loved those books, and it made me realise I really should be more open to surprises. I also prejudged Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell. If not for my brother pressuring me into reading them through his insane enthusiasm about them, I never would have. And I absolutely adored those books. Also, I had put off reading The Night Circus for YEARS and now that I’ve finally read it, it was just such a pretty and lovely book and it really added to my feels. So that does mean I have to read The Book Thief soon, I’ve been putting that off for way too long already, too.

 

That’s it again! Consider yourself tagged if you like it, and leave the link to your own tag in my comments, so I can enjoy your answers too.

XOXO

One thought on “The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Leave a Reply

