Highly Anticipated Reads Fall 2016

I don’t know about you, but I am lining up pre-orders by the dozens this summer! It is for the first time in my life that I wish summer were over, because there are so many great books coming out that I need to read ASAP. Some I’ve been waiting for a long time, others I’ve just found out about on Instagram or Goodreads.

Do you have multiple lists? I do. I have a highly anticipated list (omg, would you believe it? It’s this one), but I also have a list of books I already read and need to buy in order to complete my collection. And then there are the books I hear about and want to keep an eye on in case I need new books to fill the gaps between the pre-orders. They are on my TBR for a longer time, but it doesn’t mean I enjoy them less. Kiss of Deception is a good example. Only got around to that one last month, but I’ve already ordered the second book because I loved it.

Without further ado, here are the books I am most looking forward to / have on pre-order / count the days until I receive / won’t be available for any social behaviour until I finish them. Obsessed? I’d say so.

 

Empire of Storms | Sarah J Maas

Release date: September 6th, 2016

Goodreads summary: The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t. As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear. Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Why I anticipate this read: Yesssss, it’s finally almost here! When I started with Throne of Glass about a year and a half ago, I am ashamed to admit I wasn’t very much into it. But I grew into the story and I wanted to see where it would go. By the end of the second book, which in itself was a bit disappointing, I was incredibly intrigued that the story seemed to go in a whole different direction. So I had to buy the third book, and that one delivered like a gut punch. By that time, I was in love with the entire series and everyone in it. Aelin, Rowan, Chaol, Dorian, Manon, Lysandra, and Arobynn and LITERALLY everyone. I’m serious in saying I can’t choose.

The fourth book was even better and could have been the end of the series, but I’m so glad it continues. Sarah J Maas has really grown in strides and I can’t wait for this fifth book. I read the previous one in the back of a car while moving across the country border, willing my car sickness down, because I couldn’t stop. I can only imagine what book 5 will bring, and I CAN’T EVEN about the final book that’s going to come out in 2017. It’s not helping that the third book in her Court of Thorns and Roses series also won’t be published until May 2017.

 

The Thorn of Emberlain | Scott Lynch

Release date: September 22nd, 2016

Goodreads summary:  A new chapter for Locke and Jean and finally the war that has been brewing in the Kingdom of the Marrows flares up and threatens to capture all in its flames. And all the while Locke must try to deal with the disurbing rumours about his past revealed in The Republic of Thieves. Fighting a war when you don’know the truth of right and wrong is one thing. Fighting a war when yuo don’t know the truth of yourself is quite another. Particularly when you’ve never been that good with a sword anyway…

Why I anticipate this read: I have been waiting for this book a year longer than I should have been, and that seems to make the wait all the more difficult somehow. Scott Lynch has been suffering health problems (severe panic attacks when going out in public), which forced him to take a break from writing and his publishers pushed the deadline from september 2015 to undecided to september 2016. I have actually had the first book on my shelf for nearly three years before accepting that I was never going to read it. So I donated it to goodwill. But the book kept haunting me, as if it kept whispering “You should have read me. You still can” to me.

So last year I gave it the chance it deserved, and I was swept away in minutes. I raced to all three books, thinking – foolishly – it was a trilogy. Late one night, deep into the third book, it suddenly hit me that this might not be the case. So I checked the last page, which had an open end. I flip to the first page to see this book was published only the year before. So I race online and am very happy to see I would only have to wait two months for the fourth book. But that was before the deadline was pushed. I ended up waiting for more than a year and now it is finally almost here!

 

Gemina | Amie Kaufman

Release date: October 18th, 2016

Goodreads summary: Moving to a space station at the end of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia – and possibly the known universe – is in their hands. But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope. One again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Why I anticpate this read: I didn’t expect to love Illuminae as much as I did. I am not a big fan of alternative storytelling, I even have trouble reading epistolary novels. I find that I have trouble getting into the story when it is configured in this way, the only exception being Joop ter Heul. It’s a classic Dutch book series by Cissy van Marxveldt written in the 1920’s, and the first book is comprised of diary entries and letters. I had difficulty with this one too at first, but I’ve read it so many times now, I’ve grown accustomed to it. So, with Illuminae, I thought it would be an interesting read but a bit tough. But everyone was reading it and I cannot refuse a pretty cover, so I had to read it too.

I was utterly surprised when I was immediately drawn in. I went through it at lightning speed, immersing myself in what was happening. Which is a lot, there is never a moment to catch your breath. I have been seeing ARC’s of Gemina pop up for a few weeks now and I cannot believe how jealous I am. It is making the wait for Gemina incredibly difficult, considering I have to wait more 2 months. I love how Gemina will literally pick up seconds after Illuminae ends, with two new characters and merging them with those we already know to show us this conflict from a different perspective. I am so hoping there will be a third book and that this will be seen from the view point of the BeiTech people. To watch as it all comes crashing down *insert evil glee here*.

 

A MILLION WORLDS | CLAUDIA GRAY

RELEASE DATE: NOVEMBER 1ST, 2016

Goodreads summary: A million universes. A million dangers. One destiny. The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parent’s invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation – and that those plans could spell doom for docens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation. Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man – angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it is up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite – wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead. In the epic conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites… and only one can win.

Why I anticipate this read: I have started reading this trilogy as a diversion from the meatier fantasy series. And the first one is indeed mostly a frivolous read of great what-if universes. I found it fun to explore, but I was also surprised that the deeper questions of identity were adressed as well. So I continued with the second book, and that one took the series to a new level. I assumed that new worlds would be derivative of the first, but each one was very much new. Their experiences and thus personalities too. And it pleasantly surprised me again, and really got me into the story. I think the overall mystery might be a bit too ambitious, but I find it very promising and I am actually pretty excited for the final installment. I like books that surprise me, even if it’s a lighter read. And these covers are GORGEOUS. Anyone will want them.

 

Also on my definitely-TBR list for this fall season:

The Thousandth Floor | Katharine McGee
Release date: August 30th, 2016

A Shadow Bright and Burning | Jessica Cluess
Release date: September 20th, 2016

Three Dark Crowns | Kendare Blake
Release date: September 20th, 2016

Spindle | EK Johnston
Release date: December 6th, 2016

 

That’s it for fall! Well, that’s it for now, I obviously have room for more anticipated reads. As I am giving you mine, I am very curious to know about yours as well. Feel free to tell me all about them in the comment section, because it is impossible to discover too many new books.

It is, however, quite possible I will be running out of shelf space.

2 thoughts on “Highly Anticipated Reads Fall 2016

Leave a Reply

