The Epic Reads Tag

Margot from Epic Reads started this book tag on Youtube, and I’m picking it up because I just love the question in this one. I know I’ve been doing a lot of book tags lately, I’m slightly obsessed by them at the moment. Every time I see questions I haven’t done yet, I get itching fingers until I post it with my own answers. So here we go again!

 


Question 1: If you could invite one author and one of their fictional characters to lunch, who would you invite and what would you serve them?

AgathaChristieAgatha Christie and Hercule Poirot. I would have loved to meet Agatha Christie, I read almost all of her books and her autobiography and I just think she is the most amazing woman in the world. I loved her honest writing, her humerous wit and incredible mind. She has stated multiple times how much she had come to hate her character of Hercule Poirot, so I am definitely choosing him over Miss Marple. Just think about the two of them going at it, both feeling superior to the other and someone snapping to someone at a certain point: “I made you!” (See, it works both ways, Hercule Poirot is what made her popular). I would so enjoy a lunch with those two. No clue what I’d serve though. A good meal salad, I think. I’d rather just invite them over for dinner. Lasts longer, better food options.

 

question 2: What book do you wish the author would write a prequel for?

I’m going to go with Jacqueline Carey for the Kushiel’s Dart series. I would love to read about how Delaunay became who he is, gained his standing in the city, met Melisandre, had his great love with the crown prince, and the hatred between him and the crown prince’s wife. Almost every one of those people was dead by the time the first book starts, and I just feel that is such a great story untold.

 

Question 3: which two characters (not from the same book) would make a good couple?

Fangirl_glass This is so hard. There is a reason why people are together, part of a great (because it’s usually great) lovestory. They were literally written to be together. But I think I’ve come up with two sets  I would actually enjoy reading about, and both are cross-genre, so that makes it even more enjoyable. Couple 1: Cath from Fangirl, together with Dorian from the Throne of Glass series. She is such a dreamer, loves reading and especially writing books. Dorian loves a girl he can protect, maybe even a bit naive, and he is extraordinarily fond of books. I think they’d make a great match. Although I’d much rather see Earth_kingshim with Manon. Alright, alright. On to the next couple. That would be Adolin from Way of Kings and Jarra from Earth Girl. He is active enough to keep up with her and exasperated enough to make it all kinds of funny. I think they would suit each other well, and he needs someone new considering that Shallan is obviously going to fall for Kaladin. Let’s be honest, who wouldn’t? (Sorry, Adolin.)

 

Question 4: If you ran into your favourite author on the subway and only could say one sentence to them, who is it and what would it be?

I find it mightily annoying that I must constantly pick ONE favourite author. How do I choose between people who touch me in different ways, giving me all the feels. It’s like deciding which of your kids you like best! (I assume, I don’t have any. My mom keeps very ardently telling me that she will not now or ever choose one of us over the other. Handy tip: I finally stumped my brother by saying that our mom “will have always loved me for a year and three months longer than she does you”. I swear, there is no comeback for that. Sorry, little bro’s and sis’s.) Alright, I will accept a tie between Brandon Sanderson, Sarah J Maas and Agatha Christie. And what I would say? So easy, works for any one of them: “Please don’t ever stop writing, your books have touched me so deeply, and I gain so much pleasure from reading them.”

 

Question 5: What book made you a reader and why?

Oh dear. I’ve been reading ever since I could. There is an anecdote from my mom, that they had me tested as a small child for perhaps being gifted because I was so hyperactive. The tester told my mom I was only smart, not brilliant, but said to wait until I would learn to read and it would get a lot better. It did. I read everything I could get my hands on. I read the entire school library, we went to our regular library once a week and my mom read to me every evening before bed.
We probably started with Jip and Janneke (a classic children’s book from a Dutch author that has been in print since almost forever). I remember many books over the years making a great impression on me. One of my first “grown-up” books was the series by Jean M. Auel. I remember one of the first books that made me love fantasy, too. There was a lull when I had to do mandatory reading in high school that was so awful it almost made me stop entirely. But ever since I learned to read, there has been a steady, continual stream.

Alright, I thought of one. I can’t definitively say it’s my first love, but it is one of the first books I owned that I loved and have read multiple times. It’s one that hasl long been out of print. De sleutel van Magister Moria (The Key of Magister Moria), it’s a book about a young girl being pulled into a magical world needing to find a way out, and not knowing which magicians or creatures to trust, relying on fairytale and fable knowledge to get herself and her brother out. It was epic, and as I mentioned, one of the first books I owned. I have no idea how I came by it. We were a library-family, considering I went through them like that. But I owned it, and I loved it, and that makes just a good a story as any.

 

Question 6: Your bookshelf just caught fire. Show the book you’d save.

Finally, an easy one. It’s also a bit of a cheat. The book I’d save, is the book I’m writing myself. As I was looking around my room, I considered the fact that I can buy every book again if need be. I have no autographed books, because authors seldom do a Europe tour that includes The Netherlands. I do have out of print children’s books that I would be really distraught over if I couldn’t find a secondhand copy to replace them, but they are currently at my mom’s. What would hurt the most, is losing the story I’m writing. I sincerely think that would be a gut punch I could never overcome. I once lost a story only six chapters in the making, and I still feel that one. I can’t even imagine what would happen if I lost the one I’ve been working on for years. Or my old stories, although I have a few back-ups of those. So, I’d grab my laptop, which means, I’d save my book.

 

Question 7: Which dystopian world would you want to live in if you had to choose one? Why?

Good question, considering you’d never choose a dystopian world when sound of mind. If I have to, I’ll pick Brandon Sanderson’s world in the The Reckoners series. If I have to fight for my survival, I’d most likely want to do it kicking evil superhero butt. All those landscapes, recognisable from what we have now, but mutated by evil superhero powers to make a jungle, or a drowned city, or one covered entirely in steel. I mean SERIOUSLY. I’m so getting my geek on, here.

 

question 8: what is your most epic read of all time?

And again with the mean, unfair questions! It’s difficult to pick, because there are so many books that have struck a cord with me over the years. What I consider epic now, might not be what I considered epic as a younger girl or a child, while those were books that shaped me and my reading. How am I to choose?

So alright, I’m narrowing it down. I will pick the book or series (it’s a series) that I was most obsessed with. Which made me pre-order a book for the very first time. The books of which I carried around with me everywhere I went, for the first time, creating a life long habit. Books I treated as if they were my bible, according to my mom who had much enjoyment over this obsession of mine. I’ve read the first book so many times, I know it almost by heart. And I am talking about……. *drum roll* … Earth’s Children series by Jean M. Auel, beginning with Clan of the Cavebear.

I am expressly leaving books 5 and 6 out of the equasion. I am talking about the first four books, the ones she wrote before the huge hiatus that she probably only ended because the thought of earning that money was becoming too good to pass up. The first four books that she intended, ending with Ayla coming “home”. Those were the ones that helped shape me and how I read. Although I must  credit the later books with something. They taught me that when it is not good, it is alright to put them down and not continue reading them. Life is too short, and there are too many good books, to struggle through something you don’t like.

Auel

 


Thanks again for reading through the entire post and ending up at this sentence! Feel free to consider yourself tagged if you like this book tag as well, and let me know where you post them, so I can read your answers as well!

2 thoughts on “The Epic Reads Tag

  1. sortitaht says:

    Question 1: If you could invite one author and one of their fictional characters to lunch, who would you invite and what would you serve them?

    I would invite Norman Mailer, and his favourite character, which is Norman Mailer (he tends to write Q&A’s with himself). Setting those two up to argue could be interesting. I would serve them whisky, based on interviews with Mailer.
     
    question 2: What book do you wish the author would write a prequel for?

    Make Room, Make Room, by Harry Harrison, just to see how the world became so overcrowded.
     
    Question 3: which two characters (not from the same book) would make a good couple?

    Jerry Cornelius from The Final Programme and William Lee from Naked Lunch, because they would have one hell of an interesting conversation.
     
    Question 4: If you ran into your favourite author on the subway and only could say one sentence to them, who is it and what would it be?

    James Herbert. “Why did you give up writing the mad apocalyptic books like The Rats and The Dark?”
     
    Question 5: What book made you a reader and why?

    It was actually the novelisation of Star Wars when it first came out WAY back in 1977 when I was 8 years old. I was too stubborn to learn how to read, then taught myself how to read just because I wanted to know what happened in the film (back in those days US films would get released up to a year after their release in the US).. After that, the collected Sherlock Holmes, because I loved the Basil Rathbone films so much.
     
    Question 6: Your bookshelf just caught fire. Show the book you’d save.

    Probably my signed James Herbert copy of Ash, as the rest I could buy in a shop.
     
    Question 7: Which dystopian world would you want to live in if you had to choose one? Why?

    Probably Deathlands, due to the fact that it’s very pulpy, but with a huge slice of social satire.
     
    question 8: what is your most epic read of all time?

    Very tough question. Probably Ulysses by James Joyce, as it’s continually surprising. Either that, or Finnegan’s Wake.

Leave a Reply

